I have been writing for a long time

For many years…

 

I enjoyed writing poetry in junior high school

About crushes, curiosity and friendship

Essays were also not that hard for me, I excelled

 

During my BA in linguistics, I wrote about jobs in my field for a newsletter

I enjoyed it

I collected high marks on critical essays, reaction papers

It all came quite easily to me, I did not struggle

My honours thesis gave me more grief,

But still it did not break me

 

My masters was in speech-language pathology

I wrote journal entries, essays, a thesis

Writing got progressively more challenging

My masters thesis was a ride, but I got through it

 

I have been writing for a long time…

But it was different than writing now

Never did I have a real audience

 

Now, as I work towards publications

I am vulnerable

Every assertion, every word

Will be judged and pondered over

First by my supervisor

Then by reviewers

Finally by the readers

I think of those I look up to, those I admire

They could read my work…

 

I stress over every statement

Do I have the authority to say this?

Who has the authority to say this?

References, references, references…

My words are constantly reworded by others

Will they remain my words?

 

I have been writing for a long time

But not this kind of writing

In this, I am so new, so naive, so fresh

The writing realizations

Of a newbie

Leave a Reply

